Kansas Lottery Commission

The Kansas Lottery Commission holds monthly meetings at lottery headquarters in Topeka. The five commissioners are appointed by the governor to serve alternating four-year terms. The commission consults with and advises the Executive Director in establishing policy, approving major contracts, rules and regulations for lottery games and promotions, and approving the annual budget.

Kansas Lottery Commission Meeting Information

Catherine Moyer, Ulysses Kan., COMMISSION CHAIR
Confirmed July 12, 2019; Term Expires March 15, 2023

Commissioner Catherine Moyer is the General Manager and CEO for Pioneer Communications, a telephone and communications company that serves residents and businesses across southwestern Kansas.  She is the immediate past chairman and currently serves on the board of directors of the Organization for the Promotion and Advancement of Small Telecommunications Companies (OPASTCO), a national trade association.  She also serves on the CoBank, ACB, board of directors, and is on the Telcom Insurance Group board of directors. Catherine holds a bachelor's degree from Middlebury College and a law degree from Washburn University.  She resides in Ulysses with her husband, Kevin. She was appointed to the Commission in 2011 by Governor Sam Brownback and reappointed by Governor Kelly in 2019.

Ed Trimmer, Winfield, Kan.
Confirmed July 12, 2019; Term Expires March 15, 2023

Commissioner Ed Trimmer of Winfield, Kan., is a former Democratic member of the Kansas House of Representatives. Trimmer represented the 79th district from 2005 until 2018. Trimmer is also a retired teacher and worked for Winfield Public Schools from 1974–2006. Trimmer was appointed to the Kansas Lottery Commission in 2019 by Governor Laura Kelly. 

Vicki Ryan
Confirmed July, 2023; Term Expires on July, 2027

Margaret LaRue
Appointed June 24, 2020; Term Expires March 15, 2024




Pete BrungardtPete Brungardt
Appointed March 16, 2020 (Appointed to serve remaining term); Term Expires on March 15, 2022

Pete Brungardt  was a Republican Senator in Kansas from 2001 to 2013.  He chaired Federal and State Affairs for 10 years.  Previously, he served on the city commission in Salina for eight years and was mayor on two occasions.  Now retired, he practiced Optometry in Salina for 42 years. 



Kansas Lottery Commission Tentative Meeting Dates 2023
Date Time
Wednesday, January 11, 2023 1:30 p.m.
Friday, February 10, 2023 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 1:30 p.m. - In Person
Wednesday, April 12, 2023 1:30 p.m. 
Wednesday, May 10, 2023 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, June 14, 2023 1:30 p.m. - In Person
Wednesday, July 12, 2023 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, August 16, 2023 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, September 6, 2023 (Budget Approval) 1:30 p.m. - In Person
Wednesday, October 11, 2023 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, November 8, 2023 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 13, 2023 1:30 p.m. - In Person


Copies of the meeting agendas or minutes are available by emailing the Executive Secretary Ty Gentry with your request, or by calling Ty Gentry at 785-296-5703.